Keynote Speakers

Dr. C. Michael Walton
Dr. C. Michael Walton, Ph.D., P.E.
Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering
Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
The University of Texas at Austin

Dr. C. Michael Walton is Professor of Civil Engineering and holds the Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering at The University of Texas Austin. Dr. Walton researches intelligent transportation systems and intermodal freight logistics in addition to transportation systems engineering, planning, operations and policy analysis. Dr. Walton was elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 1993. In other professional society affairs he is a past Chair of the Board of the American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA), past President of the Board of Governors of the Transportation and Development Institute of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), a founding member and past Chair of the Board of Directors of the Intelligent Transportation Society (ITS) of America and a past Chair of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Executive Committee. He has contributed to more than 500 publications in the areas of ITS, freight transport, and transportation engineering, planning, policy and economics, and he has delivered several hundred technical presentations.

Presentation Title: Toward a Connected and Autonomous Transportation System

Dr. Huawu He
Dr. Huawu He
Chief Engineer of China Railway Corporation,
Member of Chinese National Academy of Engineering, China

Presentation Title: Introduction about Chinese Railway Development

Mohamed Abdel-Aty
Dr. Mohamed Abdel-Aty
Dr. Mohamed Abdel-Aty, Ph.D, P.E.
Professor & Chair
Dept. of Civil, Environmental & Construction Engineering
University of Central Florida

Pegasus Professor and Chair of the Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering Department at the University of Central Florida (UCF). He is also the Deputy Director of the Transportation Center (CATSS). His main expertise and interest is in the areas of traffic safety, simulation, data analytics and ITS. He is awarded the Pegasus Professorship, the highest honor at UCF. In the last 20 years, Dr. Abdel-Aty has managed more than 50 research projects in excess of $10 million. Dr. Abdel-Aty has published more than 370 papers, 195 in journals (Citations 6200, H-Index 42). He supervised to graduation more than 50 PhD and MS students. Dr. Abdel-Aty is the Editor-in-Chief of Accident Analysis and Prevention, the premier journal in safety. He is a member of the Editorial Boards of the ITS Journal and the International Journal of Sustainable Transportation, a former Co-chair of the Transportation Research Board’s Subcommittee on ATIS, and member of multiple TRB Committees, including Safety Performance.

Presentation Title: State-of-the Art Traffic Safety Studies at the Macroscopic Level

Dr. Wei Wang
Dr. Wei Wang
Dr. Wei Wang
Southeast University, China

Dr. Wei Wang, Changjiang Scholar distinguished professor of Transportation Engineering, is the dean of the School of Transportation and the director of the Division of Civil, Architecture and Transportation Engineering at the Southeast University. He is currently serving as the leader of the advisory board for the national “smooth traffic” program in China, as well as the convener of the national graduate committee for Transportation Engineering under the academic degree committee of the state council. He also holds leadership positions in professional associations such as the Academic Committee of China's Urban Transportation Planning and the national Academic Committee of Intelligent Transportation Systems. During the past 27 years, Dr. Wang has focused on teaching and conducting research in the areas of transportation system planning and management, traffic flow theory and highway capacity, as well as intelligent transportation systems. He has served as PIs for more than 45 research projects, including 1 project sponsored by the National Basic Research Program of China, 5 projects sponsored by National Key Technologies R & D Program of China, 9 projects sponsored by China’s National Scientific Foundation, as well as more than 30 projects sponsored by provincial or local governments. The total research funding exceeds 40 million RMB. Dr. Wang Wei has authored more than 140 papers in referred journals and conference proceedings, and published 9 books. He also holds 17 patents. Dr. Wang is the recipient of numerous national awards. He is the recipient of 3 National Science & Technology Awards (second class), 2 National Teaching Awards (second class), and 18 Provincial Science & Technology Awards. In recognition of his significant contributions to education and research in Transportation Engineering in China, Dr. Wang received the National Outstanding Teacher award in 2008 and the National Outstanding Youth Fund in 1998.

Presentation Title: Key Innovation Plans of Ministry of Education for Universities in the “Thirteen Five”-- Planning for Development of Transportation Field

BJTU icon
COTA icon

CICTP Conferences

CICTP 2016


Beijing Jiaotong University:
Dr. Xuedong Yan (

Dr. Yu Zhang (, or
Dr. Yafeng Yin (